The Deadline – Chapter 17, 18, Interlude

We are getting into fields I honestly was not expecting to get into in this book. It is a book about management, yes. With an environment set on a tech company, correct. But I did not expect there to be much about problem solving between employees. Now that I think about it, have they ever mentioned a human resources department in this book? As far as we have read, Belinda seems to be the closest thing to an HR Director, though she basically just looked at every employee and said «Hired» or «Not hired», and her official role has not been cleared. Webster just calls her and Markov (whom I thought would be an antagonist when I first saw his name and description) the «Management Dream Team». If my hypothesis is correct, they should totally get an HR Coordinator.

Then in chapter 18, we get another insight on how Tompkins is not as persuasive as the author is trying to sell him as (I wrote something about this around chapter 13 or so, when he tries to convice the Institute to falsify the certifications and almost horribly fails). He thinks he is about to take a first good step into mediating a problem between two employees and is left with a void in his mind by the time the session ends. Apparently he did not even prepare something of interest to any of the parties, he just spoke what he wanted them to know, but had he had the sense to see it from their perspectives, he would have realized angry people and logic do not go well together. So of course, it finally blew on his face, and I am glad it finally did. Webster must realize he is missing something in the persuasion department. People do not just follow him because he is likable.

On the other hand, I found the interlude to be quite peaceful. In the midst of all the trouble piling up on our protagonist, and the lies he is trying to cover up with more lies, we finally get to see him reflect. I mostly loved the quote at the end he wrote in his journal (taken from Mark Twain, if I recall correctly) and it is so true, and part of the philosophy I have practiced for a few years, that I feel the need to write it here so you (reader) may remember it:

It ain’t what you don’t know that gets you into trouble.
It’s what you know for sure that just ain’t so.

Unknown, attributed to Mark Twain among others.

Deja un comentario

Diseña un sitio como este con WordPress.com
Comenzar